Wednesday, July 29, 2015

The First Commandment - Brad Thor

The First Commandment is the sixth novel in the Scot Harvath series. You know you're going against the grain when the president wants you stopped -- dead or alive.
At the end of Takedown Scot's friend Tracy was shot by an assassin's bullet, right on Scot's doorstep. Now Scot is determined to find the terrorist; a terrorist from Scot's past who continues to attack those close to Scot. The president has other ideas. He orders Scott to stand down. When Scot refuses, the president gives the order do whatever it takes to stop Scot. Now Scot has to watch for terrorists and his own special ops buddies. They're all determined to stop Scot. Very highly recommended.

Sunday, July 26, 2015

Takedown - Brad Thor

Takedown is the fifth novel in the Scot Harvath series. What would you do if terrorist hit America again, and this time the death and destruction is nothing more than a diversion.
When NYC is hit by a wave of terrorist suicide bombers, Scot Harvath is in town to meet some friends. It turns out suicide bombers weren't the only terrorists in town. It's time for Scot and his friends to meet some terrorists. Lots of them. Very highly recommended.

Saturday, July 25, 2015

Blowback - Brad Thor

Blowback is the fourth novel in the Scot Harvath series. The world is so dangerously to a Sunni Caliphate.
Scot was working for DHS. Now he's sort of on his own, since there's a senator looking for his scalp, along with most of the word media. Even when Scot's on his own he's still fighting for America. This time against a plot that's going to use a weapon that's thousands of years old to kill most of the non-Muslims in the world. Very highly recommended.

Monday, July 20, 2015

Winter Territory - Scott Blade

Winter Territory is the second novel in the Get Jack Reacher series. This book is free with Kindle Unlimited.
This time Reacher has drifted onto the Lakota Red Rain Reservation in Wyoming during a blizzard. It just so happens there are some rogue CIA agents wanting to destroy the place at the same time. Reacher can't let that happen. Very highly recommended.

Sunday, July 19, 2015

Gone Forever - Scott Blade

Gone Forever is the first novel in the Get Jack Reacher series. I was skeptical, but now I'm hooked. It may not be Jack Reacher, but it's Reacher.
Cameron Reacher is 18 and out of high school. Reacher never new who his Dad was. His single Mom told him his Dad was dead. But she's gone now, and with her dying breaths she told Reacher the truth and told him to find his Father, Jack Reacher. Cameron is on the road now, looking for his Dad. But just like his Dad, Reacher is a trouble magnet. And Reachers never leave trouble unsettled. Very highly recommended. I suggest reading Lee Child's The Affair before this book. You'll be glad you did.

Saturday, July 18, 2015

State of the Union - Brad Thor

State of the Union is the third novel in the Scot Harvath series. Must keep reading!
The old-guard Russians have found a way to hold America hostage with dozens of man-portable nuclear bombs planted around the country. The president has until his State of the Union address to capitulate to the Russians or watch the country be destroyed. It's Scot's job to find a solution to this problem. How he does it is definitely worth reading about. Very highly recommended.

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Path of the Assassin - Brad Thor

Path of the Assassin is the second novel in the Scot Harvath series. More adventure and a new beautiful woman.
Scot Harvath is still a secret service agent, but he's on a special assignment to sweep up every single person responsible for the kidnapping of the president and the killing of his fellow agents. Someone else is also tracking the same people, and killing them one after another. Scot realizes something bigger is going on here. When Scot realizes just how big it becomes a national priority. Terrorists are about to start a war in the middle east and Scot has to stop them. It doesn't hurt the story when a beautiful woman is the only one who can identify the terrorist leader. Very highly recommended.

Monday, July 13, 2015

Grimnirs - Ednah Walters

Grimnirs is the third novel in the Runes series but it's considered book 2.5. This time we view things from Cora's perspective and backtrack a little to get her side of the story. Read the first two books to keep from getting lost. They're worth it.
Cora feels betrayed. Her two best friends seem to have abandoned her, and her parents sent her to a mental hospital. It all started at he swim meet disaster when Cora started to see souls. Now Cora is determined to find out what's happening to her and hopefully get her friends back. What she doesn't count on is the Grimnir that her body double was having an affair with. Warning: this is the first book in the series that resorts to sex scenes. Too bad, but the book is still a great read. Highly recommended.

Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Back to War - C. G. Cooper

Back to War is the first novel in the Corps Justice series. This book is free for the kindle. Revenge is a two way street.
Former Marine Staff Sergeant Calvin Stokes and his fiancée Jessica Warren were in the wrong place at the wrong time. They were strolling through downtown Nashville at the same time a gang initiation was taking place. Cal and Jessica were the initiation. But instead of easy pickings, Cal stood up to the gang. The consequences were devastating for Cal and the gang leader, Dante West. Both feel the need for revenge. If and how they get it is the thread this story follows. Cal is no ordinary Marine, but Dante is no ordinary thug. In spite of some rough editing, this is a great story. And it's free. Very highly recommended.

Monday, July 6, 2015

The Lions of Lucerne - Brad Thor

The Lions of Lucerne is the first novel in the Scot Harvath series. I'm going to be reading this series, even if I have to pay for them.
Scott Harvath is an ex-navy seal and current secret service agent. Scott is assigned to the presidential protection detail. Scott's service as a cold-weather navy seal makes him perfect to be in charge of the advance team for the president's ski vacation in Utah. When the entire group of agents with the president is slaughtered, and the president is kidnapped, Scott is determined to get him back. The action kept me on the virtual edge of my seat and up way too late. The ending is nothing but awesome. Very highly recommended.

Sunday, July 5, 2015

Gathering Prey - John Sandford

Gathering Prey is the 25th novel in the Prey series. This is a turning point for Lucas Davenport.

Lucas Davenport is finding his job mundane. Eventually they promote you above the point where your job is fun. Then his daughter Letty has Lucas meet with a traveler named Skye. Skye's friend Henry was murdered by the devil. Lucas starts digging into the case, but when Letty is attacked by the murderer, Lucas makes the devil's capture a priority. This is classic Sandford. You can't put this book down until your eyes shut on their own or you're finished. Very highly recommended.

Concrete Evidence - Rachel Grant

Concrete Evidence is the first novel in the Evidence series. This book is free for the kindle.

Rachel Grant is trying to start over after her reputation was ruined when she took a job that went bad. Rachel won't ever work as an underwater archeologist again, but there are other choices. Now Rachel is trying to get revenge on the man who ruined her life, but her new intern is ruining her concentration. Life is never fair. Excellent book. Highly recommended.